## Hong Kong Political Reform Series Deadlock Broken - What Next?



## Saturday, 27 November, 2010 9:00 am - 3:30 pm Council Chamber, HKU

Chairpersons: **Prof Michael Davis**, Professor of Law, CUHK **Steve Vines**, Political Commentator **Ray Yep**, Research Director, SynergyNet

Speakers:

Prof Albert Chen (HKU), Member, Basic Law Committee
Prof Michael DeGolyer, Director, Hong Kong Transition Project
Albert Ho, Legislator, Chairman, Democratic Party
Alan Hoo, Chairman, Basic Law Institute
Regina Ip, Legislator, Chairperson, Savantas Policy Institute
Allen Lee, Former NPC Delegate
Alan Leong, Legislator, Vice Chairman, Civic Party
Ma Ngok, Assoc Prof, Dept of Government and Public Admin, CUHK
Ronny Tong, Legislator, Executive Committee member, Civic Party
Ada Wong, Chair, Hong Kong Institute of Contemporary Culture
Jimmy Wong, Tai Po District Councilor







For registration, please email Flora Leung at fkleung@hku.hk

	MORNING SESSION Deadlock Broken: What Next?
9:00 - 9:10	Welcoming Remarks and Introduction Johannes Chan, (Professor and Dean, Faculty of Law)
	Panel 1 : District Councils
	* * * * * * * *
	Chair : Prof Michael Davis (Professor of Law, CUHK)
9:10 - 10:10	Speakers:
	• Ma Ngok (Associate Professor, Department of Government and Public Administration, CUHK)
	• Hon Ronny Tong (Legislator and Executive Committee member, Civic Party)
	• Ada Wong, (Chair, Hong Kong Institute of Contemporary Culture)
	• Jimmy Wong, District Councilor ( <i>TaiPo</i> )
10:10 - 10:30	Q&A
10:30 - 10:45	Coffee Break
	Panel 2 : Legislative Council
	* * * * * * * *
	Chair: Ray Yep (Research Director, SynergyNet)
10:45 - 11:45	Speakers:
	• Professor Michael DeGolyer (Director, Hong Kong Transition Project)
	• Hon Albert Ho (Legislator, Chairman, Democratic Party)
	• Hon Regina Ip (Legislator, Chair, Savantas Policy Institute)

AFTERNOON SESSION Deadlock Broken: What Next?	
11:45 - 12:15	Q&A
12:15 - 13:30	Lunch
13:30 - 14:30	<ul> <li>Panel 3 : Chief Executive</li> <li>*******</li> <li>Chair : Steve Vines (Political Commentator)</li> <li>Speakers: <ul> <li>Professor Albert Chen (Professor in Constitutional Law, Faculty of Law, HKU, member, Basic Law Committee)</li> <li>Hon Alan Leong (Legislator, Vice Chair, Civic Party)</li> <li>Allen Lee, (Former NPC Delegate)</li> <li>Alan Hoo, (Chairman, Basic Law Institute)</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
14:30 - 15:00	<b>Q&amp;A</b> <b>Closing Remarks</b> Simon Young (Professor and Director, Centre for Comparative and Public Law )

## PRINCIPAL ORGANISERS





